The Art of Trying

08/15/2019

I started this post on the notes app of my phone in a lifeguard shack beside the lake. I finished it in the parking lot of the restaurant I serve at. It's still a week and a half late going up on my site. The point is: Life has a nasty habit of trying to destroy my creativity.

Clearly, I still haven't figured out how to overcome this problem, but being aware that it is an issue is a decent first step. In American culture, we prioritize work, pushing our creative outlets to the side. It's this mentality that not only negatively brands careers in the arts, but also crushes the artistic urges that nearly everyone has.

I've spent my whole life trying to find a balance, but now I'm convinced it's different for everyone. While I need a certain number of "creative hours" a day to feel fulfilled, an extremely high and often implausible number at that, others can survive off a few minutes here and there. Either way, it's crucial to work out a system that works for you individually, because without art, what's the point?

So, here's what I've gathered in the last twenty years. It's not much, it's not nearly enough, but I can't take on the flawed thinking of America's working class alone. The best I can do is work hard and try to make the things in my head become a reality. I can try to be happy.

1. Set a schedule

This one really worked for me in college. I would go to the gym, go to class, and write at night like clockwork. I'm one of those people who benefits from doing the same thing every day, checking things off my mental to-do list as I go.

It's said that you need to find time to write (or create) every single day if you want to improve, and I believe that's true. It's just not feasible. That being said, if you can set aside a chunk of time every M/W/F or Sunday night or even in the parking lot before work, you'll still see the improvement. You'll still get to where you want to be.

2. Multi-task

Okay, I'm aware the human brain isn't actually capable of multi-tasking, but the principle still works for me. Even when I'm not physically able to sit down and create, my mind doesn't stop. Oftentimes at work or on a run, I'll find myself brainstorming about my current project. If I'm quick, I'll write it down on my phone, and if not, I'll tuck it away in the back of my head and make note of it when I get home.

Creation is beautiful in the sense that it can occur anywhere and in so many different ways. Fleeting thoughts are my favorite form.

3. Cut yourself a break

A lot of artists these days are condescending toward people who aren't creating all day, every day. To them, I have to ask: Don't you think if I could do what I love 24/7, I would?

My day job takes time away from my art, yes, but my day job also pays the bills and gives me a space to do my creating. It's not what I want to do forever, it's not what I plan to do forever, but it's keeping me grounded for now.

I was really upset with myself for putting this post up so late. I agonized over the last couple of weeks, trying to see where I could have squeezed in time to write this and get it up by a deadline I set for myself. It doesn't really matter though, does it? It's out there now. I finished the task and I can move onto the next one.

I'm done beating myself up over failing to meet my own targets. I'm done thinking I'm somehow less of an artist because my two jobs, podcast, and various other obligations prevented me from finishing a chapter or post. As long as I'm writing, as long as I'm trying, I've decided that's enough for me.

At this point, it's all about doing the best we can, and this is it for me.

What about you? Have you ever felt trapped by an insanely busy schedule? Do you feel like your creativity has been suppressed? Let me know what you think below! Thanks for reading! 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started