Self-Publishing: The Metaphorical "I" in "Team"

11/19/2019

If you've even remotely been paying attention this far, you probably know I started a novel a little over a year ago. I spent my summer looking for representation, trying to decide how to move forward with this project, and ultimately, I've decided to self-publish.

I, much like many of you I assume, previously thought of self-publishing as an extremely expensive process for authors who weren't talented enough to be picked up by a traditional publishing company. I was wrong and so are you, if you still believe this.

There are pros and cons to both methods of publishing, which you can Google if you really must know, but the point is, I'm embarking on one of the craziest trips of my life and I want to share the process with each of you.

If you've gone to all the effort to write a book, create an entire world out of nothing, you deserve to share it with people. For me, it isn't about the money. It never has been and I doubt it ever will be. I just put so much of myself into this project; I want other people to share in that.

Perhaps that is part of the reason I chose to self-publish. I am overly eager and barely able to keep the project somewhat secretive. Honestly, even this blog post is too much, too soon.

Publishing, traditional or self, is a long process. With traditional publishing, I would have no control over the timeline. I'd spend years just trying to get the legal issues sorted out before we moved in to the actual publishing process.

I think there's something to say for creating art and getting it out there in a timely manner. It's why we so often return to our original drafts, go back to the drawing board. There is something visceral and edgy to the inception of a new project. The less time between origin and publication, the better.

With self-publishing, I am in sole control of the project. For my novel, especially my first, I think this is important. At this point in my career, I am not willing to compromise. I know what I want. I see it so clearly in my head. One day, when I've established this is more than just some childhood dream, I'll be more than ready to sacrifice for something better in return. I do not have all the best ideas in the room. I know that, but for this first shot, I want to be able to say it's all me.

That does not, however, mean that I am closed off to collaboration. In fact, this project will never see the light of day without help from other brilliant people. With self-publishing, you need to contract out the work you can't do yourself. For me, so far, this includes an editor and graphic designer. I'm lucky in the sense I have enough publishing experience in order to format the interior of the book myself. I can't do it all though, leaving me to handpick who I want on my team during this journey.

As of right now, the manuscript is in the editor's hands and I am awaiting the first edits back. In the meantime, I've started a few new projects, outlining some potential stories and continuing with the screenplay I began a few months ago. It's best to keep myself distracted or I'll go off the rails, anticipating what comes next.

Judge me for self-publishing? Fine. This post was no explanation or justification. I am overflowing with joy, unable to contain myself at the thought of my story, this mammoth that came entirely from my brain, finally seeing the light of day.

I plan to keep you all updated as I continue with the publishing process. I, for one, won't be able to contain my excitement forever. Maybe we'll talk about the story itself, where it came from, and what I hope it accomplishes sometime in the future. The closer we get to release day, the more I'll have to say.

Until then, shoot any questions, comments, or song recommendations my way! Oh, and be on the lookout for the title soon...

Thanks for reading and the never-ending support! Let me know what you think below and remember to give my socials a follow, especially if you want more timely updates and MCR content. See you soon! // bcp 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started