Genre WORKS: Defending What’s Out of this World

07/23/2019

I have to preface this post by saying you are not about to read my defense of Twilight. Personally, I have a host of feelings about that series, some that are justified and academic in nature, which may one day become a post all on their own. More often than not though, my opinions on the best-selling vampire romance include a string of profanities and exasperated noises.

It's that irrationally enraged reaction of mine, one I know so many people have experienced themselves, that I'd like to talk about. See, Twilight is bad, but not for the reasons we tend to think.

When we hear about stories taking place entirely outside of reality, stories with lore, magic, and fictional creatures, we consumers tend to have two polarizing reactions. Either we buy into the franchise, as was the case with Twilight, or we prematurely dismiss them.

These types of stories fall under the umbrella category of genre works. Fantasy, science fiction, and dystopia are probably the most common examples. Think The Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

For whatever reason, there is a general consensus that stories which are not rooted in reality are not worth reading. Obviously, we could all name a few franchises that are exceptions to this, but if I started going on about my favorite Octavia Butler novel, chances are you'd have no idea who I was talking about.

I'm not buying it. I refuse to believe the story where magic exists is any less deserving than the one where it doesn't. I refuse to believe it is "childish" or "juvenile" to enjoy genre works. I refuse to believe there is no intellectual discourse or discussion to be had over these stories.

My freshman year of college, I remember shaking in excitement for my first (and what would end up being my only) creative writing class. Ideas were already swirling around my skull and I couldn't wait to get them on paper. Some of them would be considered genre fiction and some wouldn't. Either way, I showed up eager and ready to write.

That naïve and inexperienced joy would soon be trampled. Right there in the syllabus, my professor wrote about invalidity of genre works. They wouldn't be accepted in the class, or within the college's creative writing program for that matter. This didn't sit well with me, and it still doesn't, but I couldn't figure out why for months to come.

What it comes down to is this: No one should feel like they have the right to dictate what someone else creates, and they sure as hell don't get to decide if it's worthy.

I am unbelievably proud of my English degree. Don't get me wrong. I wouldn't be the writer I am without it. However, that doesn't mean my education was flawless. This was the first time I felt like college was failing me, by crushing my creativity. 

Nevertheless, I know academia can be hierarchical and exclusive, so it really shouldn't have surprised me that genre works were basically out-lawed in the classroom. That being said, I believe the persistent negative connotation associated with genre works is formed and fueled in academic settings.

So, what is it that separates genre fiction from more "respectable" fiction pieces? Well, let me tell you: It's ego.

Whether it be a classic literary piece or dystopian novel, they are both fiction. They were both created from nothing, entirely formed within someone's head. They are both stories that give something to the reader. They are both influential. They are both admirable.

Fiction exists to challenge us. What better way to do that than present people with stories completely outside of the realm of reality?

I'm not going to read Twilight again and I wouldn't ask you to do that either. I would, however, suggest reading something other than what you normally gravitate toward. You never know. There are valuable lessons to be learned from impossible situations.

Genre fiction can be sophisticated. It can be dissected. It can be powerful. All it needs is to be given the chance.

Have you ever been discouraged during higher education? What are your thoughts on genre works? Do you hate Twilight as much as I do? Thank you for reading and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments! 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started