Art of the Year 2019

12/31/2019

Typically, at the end of every year I make a lengthy post about my personal highs and lows of the last twelve months. (Let's be real: Take a look at my Instagram and you'll still find one.) That being said, I have no grievances with 2019. That's not to say it was perfect; it wasn't. I lost as much as I gained, however, for the first time I can remember, I wouldn't change a thing about it. I took the last year to live fearlessly with no regrets and I succeeded. That's all I can ask for.

Most importantly, 2019 was the year I finally committed to being an artist and decided to really go for it. The decision wasn't made lightly and I never would have done it if I hadn't submersed myself in all the brilliant art created in the last year. So, in celebration of everything 2019 gave us, I'm recognizing my favorite creations of the past twelve months in my (perhaps to be annual) ART OF THE YEAR AWARDS. They're listed in no particular order but I recommend each and every one of them for a million reasons I'm ready to tell you about.

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:

  • FANDOM- Waterparks

No one should be surprised by this one. I gave this album a glowing recommendation earlier in the year here, but it still stands out as one of my favorite pieces from 2019. The cyclical quality, the commentary it provides, the sheer audacity of a band to explicitly state these things, all make FANDOM deserving of a place on this list. I caught them on tour about two months ago and it only reinforced my love of this album. The personality of it is genuine as hell and refreshing in this scene.

  • The Search- NF

Now this one may come as a shock. I am typically not a rap or hip-hop fan, however, NF is the exception. This album builds on the concepts of the three previous albums, continuing extended metaphors that spread throughout NF's catalog. Self-referential, openly honest and aware, every track on this album contributes to the deeply personal story being told here. It's dark but in the best of ways and the aesthetic built around the album just tops it off.

  • Barriers- Frank Iero and The Future Violents

Long before the MCR reunion, ex-ex-rhythm guitarist Frank Iero dropped his third solo album and it blew me away. The subject matter was excruciatingly honest and heartbreaking. While I know this album won't be for everyone, especially people who fixate on vocals, the musicality alone earns it a place on this list. "Medicine Square Garden" may be what I consider to be a perfect piece of music. Most of all, this album makes me feel something and the most technically correct music oftentimes fails to do that for me.

  • Logos- Selfish Things

I caught Selfish Things on tour twice this year, once before the album dropped and once after. The growth between those two performances was astonishing, but even more baffling is the material on Logos. This doesn't sound like a debut album. It is more of a sophomore or junior release, which makes it outstanding for the baby band. Perhaps my only objection with it is the track listing, so I'm giving you one free pass to listen to this one on shuffle, but it's still brilliant. I doubt we'll be seeing Selfish Things as first openers for much longer and I am definitely on board for whatever follows Logos.

SONG OF THE YEAR:

  • "Unopened Windows" - Set It Off

Although I had to cut Midnight from my favorite albums of the year, this track was a shoe-in for song of the year. It is devastating and from the first time I heard it, I knew it was going to stick with me. About the lives we'll never live and the things we inadvertently missed out on, this track knows how to pack a punch. Add in the theatricality of it and the clarinet solo during live sets and we've got a recipe for tears. Seriously, I found myself choking up in the middle of the pit.

  • "Nightmare" - Halsey

I distinctly remember waking up and seeing the notification for this track and music video. Watching it immediately and then pressing repeat, I knew this was going to be one of my anthems of the year. Empowering, feminist as f*ck, and overall badass, this track is the push I need to get it done some mornings. I'm really disappointed it won't be featured on her upcoming album but I suppose it still functions well as a one-off single. I mean, I'm still screaming it with my windows down all these months later.

  • "God's Country" - Blake Shelton

My brother would probably lose his mind if he read this far and knew I mentioned Blake Shelton without cursing. I am not a country fan and I am not a Blake Shelton fan, but it would be wrong for me to disregard this track solely on that basis. At the end of the day, even if I hate it, the song is catchy. Whether I want to or not, I'm singing it for days after hearing just a section of it. That, and I associate this song with good summer memories of lifeguarding, so I guess the sentimentalist in me put this track here.

  • "Hazy Shade of Winter" - Gerard Way (feat. Ray Toro)

Technically a cover, this is by far the best one of the year. Recorded for Netflix's The Umbrella Academy (which we'll get to, fear not), this song twists Simon & Garfunkel into something modern and compelling. Covers are difficult but you need to listen to this one. They did a really nice job of paying tribute to the original while making it their own and getting it to serve a purpose for the television show. It's a bop.

FILM OF THE YEAR:

  • It: Chapter 2- Andy Muschietti

I love, love, love the first modern adaptation of It and this one was even better. Muschietti took the book and expanded upon it to create this beautiful story that also happened to have a killer clown in it. A lot of complaints about this film seem to revolve around the lack of horror in this horror flick, however, I wasn't bothered by that. If anything, I think we need more stories like this, focused on the characters more so than the plot, because at the end of the day, that's what viewers identify with: people, not events.

  • Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and Vile - Joe Berlinger

If you haven't figured it out by now, I consumed way more music than visual art this year, but out of the films I did see, this one really stuck with me. Zac Efron's performance as Ted Bundy was utterly terrifying and in a world with almost too may serial killer stories out there, this movie stands out as the best. Perhaps that has something to do with the fact it isn't from Bundy's point of view, but rather his girlfriend's. It's refreshing. I'm not interested in wasting time with stories that aren't doing something new, fun, and different. This film nicely does all three.

TELEVISION OF THE YEAR:

  • The Umbrella Academy - Steve Blackman & Jeremey Slater

Adapted from Gerard Way's (yes, that Gerard Way) and Gabriel Bá's comic of the same name, The Umbrella Academy is one of the main reasons I chose to go into television. Something about it struck me in just the right way and for the first time, it made writing for television seem accessible to me, like it was something I could do too. The story itself is so smart. Couple that with the incredible soundtrack, excellent casting, and an overall interesting format and I was hooked. I'm eagerly awaiting season two and let's be real, I'll probably binge it a few more times before then.

  • The Politician - Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, & Ian Brennan

Everyone knows I think Ryan Murphy is genius in everything he does and The Politician is no exception. Starring breakout musical theater actor Ben Platt, this show is part-musical, part-drama, and full-on crazy. It includes everything you would expect of Murphy, namely singing, murder, and a lack of consequences. The Politician pushes boundaries I didn't even know existed. Do yourself a favor and check it out.

  • The Act- Michelle Dean & Nick Antosca

I eagerly awaited Wednesday nights for new episodes of this eight-part mini-series. Following the true crime of Gypsy and Dee Dee Blanchard, which is wild enough as it is, The Act dramatizes it in a way that's suspenseful and exciting, even if you already know what will happen. The defining case of Munchhausen's by proxy, The Act analyzes toxic relationships and (spoiler) deconstructs the murder of Dee Dee. In a year filled to the brim with true crime content, The Act was definitely a stand out.

I considered doing a book of the year category, but in looking back, I realized I didn't read much new material from 2019. I was far too busy writing and editing my own book (THE B-SIDE is available for pre-order tomorrow, January 1!) but for my "resolution," even though I don't really believe in those, is to read more in 2020. Hopefully next year, I'll have that one last category for you!

In closing, I just want to say thank you to everyone who's been a part of the last twelve months. Even more importantly, I want to thank everybody who's made anything this past year. Art is what keeps me going and I love to see my friends and family creating freely and without shame.

Here's to whatever we make in 2020. Let it feed our souls and maybe make the world a little better of a place.

The verdict is in! I'd love to hear what YOUR favorite art of 2019 was. Send me a message, contact me on social media, or respond below. Thanks for reading and happy New Year everyone! // bcp

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started